Research Group (The ‘A’-Team)


Will looking out over towards the inland ice, Motzfeldt, South Greenland

Dr Will Hutchison, was funded by EU-funded HiTech AlkCarb consortium. Will’s research is quantifying the conditions and processes that take place in the roof zones of subvolcanic magma chambers. He is photographed here on top of 1610 m summit in Motzfeldt, South Greenland. Will recently was awarded a UKRI personal fellowship which will fund him to study ash eruptions in ice cores.

Anouk analysing lujavrite at Poços de Caldas, Brazil

Dr Anouk Borst, is a post-doctoral research fellow funded initially by the NERC SoS RARE consortium but most recently by HiTech AlkCarb. Her work is looking at how the isotopes of lanthanide elements encode the geological history. She is also studying the structural state of lanthanide elements in common ore minerals.

Nicky distracted from analysing carbonate rocks.

Nicky Horsburgh, previously a PhD studentship funded jointly by the NERC funded SoS RARE consortium and the University of St Andrews, supervised jointly with Dr Jonathan Cloutier. Following the submission of her thesis, as of the 1st January 2020, she is a PDRA working for the HiTech AlkCarb consortium.

Kris Photo
Kris in his field area to the West of Igdlerfigsalik, looking at metasomatised sandstone.

Krzysztóf (Kris) Sokól, Iapetus (NERC funded) PhD student, jointly with Dr Jonathan Cloutier and Dr Madeleine Humphreys, University of Durham. CASE student with Greenland Rare Earth Projects Ltd.

curtis image
Curtis working in the area North of Narsarsuaq on Gardar age diatremes containing lamprophyre and carbonatite

Curtis Rooks, who graduated from St Andrews after a dissertation on a Gardar topic, is working as a research assistant on the HiTech AlkCarb project, particularly focussing on the outreach and legacy.


Past Postdocs and PhD Students

2013-07-01 14.08.01
Josh with supervisor Adrian (in the background) on the Paatusoq Complex, SE Greenland

Joshua Hughes, Iapetus (NERC funded) PhD student was based at University of Durham, jointly with Dr Madeleine Humphreys. He now head geologist with Bluejay mining.

Adam with map in John's office 21 Jun 2018
Dr Adam Zaniewski with the map he produced of the Ross of Mull

Dr Adam Zaniewski (2018) PhD University College Cork on a joint project led by Dr John Reavy on the Ross of Mull granitoid complex.

Emma during fieldwork in the Kringlerne area, South Greenland 2013

Dr Emma Hunt (2015) NERC funded PhD St Andrews, jointly supervised with Dr Colin Donaldson. Previously postdoctoral research fellow in magma chamber dynamics at University of the Witwatersrand, South Africa; now living in Baton Rouge in Louisiana, USA.

Rob preparing samples for As and Cr synchrotron studies, 2012

Dr Rob Campbell (2014) PhD St Andrews, jointly supervised with Dr Ed Stephens.

Helen looking down over Motzfeldt So, 2001

Dr Helen Salmon (2013) PhD Birkbeck College, University of London, jointly supervised with Professor Hilary Downes. Now exploration consultant and director of her own exploration company.

Richard (far right) at his graduation at St Andrews, 2013

Prof Richard Taylor (2013) (right) STFC PhD St Andrews, jointly supervised with Dr Colin Donaldson and Professor Fred Mosselmans (Diamond Light Source). Now Professor of Gemmology, China University of Geosciences Wuhan, China, and consultant in gemmology.

Georgina doing sampling in Norway, 2009

Prof Georgina King (2011) NERC funded PhD St Andrews, jointly supervised with Dr Ruth Robinson. Now: Associate Professor at the University of Lausanne, Switzerland.

Christine during her visit to St Andrews, 2010

Christine Wendler MSc (2011) MSc by research, Technical University of Freiberg (jointly with Professor Jens Gotze).

Anil and his family at graduation

Dr Anil Chamara Jayasundera (2010) EPSRC funded PhD St Andrews, jointly supervised with Professor Phil Lightfoot. Now Senior Lecturer in materials chemistry, University of Peradeniya, Kandy, Sri Lanka.


Henrik looking for rare minerals, Ilimaussaq, South Greenland

Prof Henrik Friis (2009) PhD St Andrews, jointly supervised with Dr Colin Donaldson and Dr Terry Williams (Natural History Museum, London). Now Associate Professor of Mineralogy, University of Oslo, Norway.

Jamie taking a break on Motzfeldt, South Greenland, 2007

Dr Jamie McCreath (2009) PhD St Andrews, jointly supervised with Dr Colin Donaldson. Previously exploration geologist; now consultant in renewable energy.

Johannes climbing up to the green lujavrite of Motzfeldt, 2007

Dr Johannes Schonenberger (2008) PhD University of Tubingen, German, jointly supervised with Professor Gregor Markl. Now Principal Geologist at Statoil, Trondheim, Norway.


Dr Laura Foster (2007) PhD St Andrews, jointly supervised with Dr Nicola Allison. Now Postdoctoral research fellow in climate change at the University of Bristol.

Dr Suzanne Grogan (2004) Joint supervision with Dr John Reavy, University College Cork, Ireland.

Andrew Hobbs MPhil (1999) MPhil, University of Hertfordshire.

Kathryn at Syenitknold, part of the Younger Giant Dyke Complex, South Greenland in 1995

Dr Kathryn Goodenough (1997) NERC funded PhD Edinburgh University, jointly with Professor Brian Upton and Professor Ian Parsons. Now Principal Researcher at the British Geological Survey, Edinburgh.